15 49.0138 8.38624 arrow 0 arrow 0 4000 1 fade http://talent-in-borders.com 300 4000
An entertainment site featuring the best music and more you've never heard or seen

BMG & Universal present 'Confessin' the Blues' handpicked in collaboration with The Rolling Stones

Posted: August 1, 2018
Category: Music News
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Comments: 0

Spread the love

Announced in the London, one of the biggest bands in the world, The Rolling Stones, are huge purveyors of the blues, and have helped curate a compilation of the music that inspired them throughout their career.

The new compilation, Confessin’ The Blues collects some of the greatest bluesmen, and features a precise study of the genre. The tracks featured were chosen by The Rolling Stones in collaboration with BMG and Universal. The sets are due out via BMG on Nov. 9, 2018. 

Having been longtime supporters of the blues, from the very start of their career even with their current album, Blue & Lonesome, featuring their interpretations of the classics, with many of those songs appearing in their original versions on this compilation of Confessin’ The Blues.


 “The first Muddy Waters album that was really popular was Muddy Waters at Newport, which was the first album I ever bought.” Keith Richards said, “If you don’t know the blues… there’s no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music.”

As such big supporters of the blues, the band and BMG have decided that 10% of BMG’s net receipts* from the sale of this album will be donated to Willie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation (registered as a 501C3 non-profit organization in the United States).

Jacqueline Dixon, President/CEO of The Blues Heaven Foundation, said: “We are extremely honoured, grateful and humbled thatWillie Dixon’s Blues Heaven Foundation has been included in such an astonishing project. It means so much that my father’s dream of creating an organisation that promotes, protects and preserves the Blues for future generations is being recognised and supported by artists that have achieved so much.” 

Confessin’ The Blues includes tracks by the biggest blues pioneers including Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry, Big Bill Broonzy and Robert Johnson. All of these artists had an impact on the nascent Rolling Stones, whether influencing Keith’s guitar licks or Mick’s vocals and lyrics. As Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood says: “That’s how Mick and Keith first got close as well, on the train coming back from college. They noticed each other’s record collection and it was, “Hey, you’ve got Muddy Waters. You must be a good guy, let’s form a band.” 

Confessin’ The Blues’ will be available as a 2-CD set, 2×2 Vinyl LP sets and a 5×10” Vinyl book-pack (mimicking the original 78 RPM releases). All versions include liner notes by music journalist Colin Larkin and the book-pack contains removable art card prints by noted blues illustrator Christoph Mueller. The album cover artwork comes courtesy of Wood, who has added his own personal twist to the project by painting his interpretation of a bluesman.

Confessin’ The Blues is a real musical education from those who know the genre best, the greatest living band on the planet, The Rolling Stones.

Track listing: 
Disc One:
1. Muddy Waters Rollin’ Stone
Howlin’ Wolf Little Red Rooster 
3. John Lee Hooker Boogie Chillen 
4. Little Walter Hate To See You Go 
5. Chuck Berry Little Queenie
6. Bo Diddley You Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover
7. Eddie Taylor Ride ‘Em On Down 
8. Slim Harpo I’m A King Bee
9. Magic Sam All Your Love 
10. Elmore James Dust My Broom 
11. Little Walter Just Your Fool
12. Muddy Waters I Want To Be Loved
13. Big Bill Broonzy Key To The Highway
14. Robert Johnson Love In Vain Blues 
15. Mississippi Fred McDowell You Gotta Move 
16. Jimmy Reed Bright Lights, Big City 
17. Big Maceo Worried Life Blues 
18. Little Johnny Taylor Everybody Knows About My Good Thing (Part 1)
19. Howlin’ Wolf Commit A Crime 
20. Otis RushI Can’t Quit You Baby 
21. Jay McShann & Walter Brown Confessin’ The Blues 
Disc Two:
1. Howlin’ Wolf Just Like I Treat You 
2. Little Walter I Got To Go
3. Chuck Berry Carol
4. Bo Diddley Mona
5. Muddy Waters I Just Want To Make Love To You
6. Elmore James Blues Before Sunrise
7. Eddie Taylor Bad Boy
8. Boy Blue Boogie Children 
9. Jimmy Reed Little Rain 
10. Robert Johnson Stop Breakin’ Down Blues 
11. Reverend Robert Wilkins The Prodigal Son 
12. Lightnin’ Slim Hoodoo Blues 
13. Billy Boy Arnold Don’t Stay Out All Night
14. Bo Diddley Craw Dad
15. Dale Hawkins Suzie Q
16. Amos Milburn Down The Road Apiece
17. Howlin’ Wolf Little Baby 
18. Little Walter Blue And Lonesome
19. B.B. King Rock Me Baby 
20. Buddy Guy Damn Right I’ve Got The Blues
21. Muddy Waters Mannish Boy
Check out all available compilations here

Spread the love

Hey, like this? Why not share it with a buddy?

Related Posts